Skip to Content

About Us


Director's Message

Welcome to the SAFE program. SAFE stands for Southwest Agriculture and Food Security Education: Preparing Future Leaders for a Safe and Secure U.S. Food Supply System. It is a project made possible by USDA-NIFA. The grant provides 21 Hispanic scholars educational support to complete a degree in agriculture, nutrition, biology or related sciences. Please feel free to navigate through the pages. If questions arise, please contact us at the Department of Agriculture at Texas State University.

 Dr. Douglas Morrish      dm43@txstate.edu     512.245.3321

Department of Agriculture     Texas State University     

601 University Drive    San Marcos, Texas 78666

512.245.2120


Contact Us

For Information about the

Southwest Agriculture and Food Security Education:

Preparing Future Leaders for A Safe and Secure US Food Supply System (SAFE)

please contact the SAFE project director:

Dr. Douglas Morrish

Department of Agriculture

Texas State University

San Marcos, Texas 78666

dm43@txstate.edu

512-245-3321


Staff Contacts


USDA SAFE Staff Contact List 2-12-15
  Last First Instit Title Email Office Phone Cell Phone Fax
1 Morrish Doug TxState Co-PI dm43@txstate.edu 512.245.3321 512.618.0889 512.245.3320
2 Pilus Shirley TxState Grant Secretary sp05@txstate.edu 512.245.3319 512.968.1466 512.245.3320
3 Walton Kathy ACC Grants Comp Officer kwalton@austincc.edu 512.223.7213    
4 Reyes George ACC Dean of Students Hays rey@aunstincc. edu 512.262.6525    
5 Blank Janelle ACC Acctg Supervisor janelle.blank@austincc.edu 512.223.1069    
6 Parra Rita NMSU OSP ritparra@nmsu.edu      
7 Devall Esther NMSU Chair, FCS edavall@nmsu.edu 575.646.3936   575.646.1889
8 Delgado Efren NMSU Adjunct Professor edelgad@nmsu.edu 575.646.1759 915.504.2373 575.646.1889
9 Hayes Misty NMSU Grant Administrator mihayes@nmsu@edu 757.646.1999    
10 Flores Nancy NMSU Associate Professor naflores@nmsu.edu 575.646.1179   575.646.1889
11 Munson-McGee Stuart NMSU Professor smunsonm@nmsu.edu 575.646.2565   575.646.1889
12 Underwood Mark SWTJC VPAA meunderwood@swtjc.edu 830.591.7286    
13 Trevino San Juana SWTJC Grants Admin sgtrevino@swtjc.edu 830.591.2935    
14 Ermis Lisa SWTJC Controller ldermis@swtjc.edu 830.591.7293